My chances of being president of the Senate are very high – Akpabio

The former minister of the Niger Delta, Senator Godswill Akpabio, has said that his records and achievements will earn him the position of president of the Senate in the 10th National Assembly.

Naija News reports that Akpabio stated this on Tuesday during a visit to the residence of the president-elect, Bola Tinubu, in the Asokoro area of ​​Abuja.

The former governor of Akwa Ibom said that his chances of being president of the Senate were very high because his record in terms of governance, legislative affairs and a wide range of political experience is already known to his colleagues.

He said, “The question of the Presidency of the Senate is a function of the senators. I have had the privilege of serving in the Senate before as a minority leader and any senator should be ready to take advantage of his colleagues to serve as president of the Senate.

“The chances of me being president of the Senate are very high because my colleagues already know my background in terms of governance, legislative affairs and the wide range of experience I have in politics.”

There have been calls for the All Progressive Congress (APC) leadership to split the Senate presidency into the southeast or south-south and the House presidency into the north-central or north-west.

Akpabio will compete for the presidency of the Senate with senators such as Jibrin Barau (Kano North); Sani Musa (Niger East); Orji Uzor Kalu (North Abia); Abdul-Aziz Yari (West Zamfara); Ali Ndume (South Borno), Osita Izunaso (West Imo), Dave Umahi (South Ebonyi) and Adams Oshiomhole (North Edo).

Other APC chiefs who also visited Tinubu along with Akpbaio are the national chairman of the ruling APC, Senator Abdullahi Adamu; the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Governor of Ekiti State, Biodun Oyebanji; and Senator Barau Jibrin.

In addition, the party members at the Tinubu residence were Senator Olamilekan Adeola, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, Senator Emmanuel Bwacha, Senator Tokunbo Abiru and the Hon. James Falke.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *